QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE

Publications Committee Meeting Minutes (2016-2017)

Meeting date: May 17, 2017 Draft submitted: May 18, 2017

Location: H324

Chair: Kathleen Alves Secretary: Raul Armendariz

Members present: Kathleen (Kat) Alves, Raul Armendariz, Wendy Ford, Chukwudi Ikwueze,

Frank Jacob, Mohammad Javdan, Jennifer Maloy, Faustino Quintanilla

1. The April meeting minutes were approved with minor edits.

2. Best departmental webpage

The Nursing Department won the best webpage award; Kat will request Stephen Di Dio's office to print the certificate award and will present it to the nursing department.

3. QCC webpage dead links

Kat will inform the academic senate steering committee that the process of checking QCC webpages for dead links is now fully automated and conducted on a routine basis by Director of Web Services Dave Moretti.

4. Handbooks

Raul informed the committee on his 4-28-2017 discussion with and suggestions from Dean Larios:

- 1) The HEO, HEO Substitute, New Teaching Faculty, New Teaching Faculty Substitute, CLT, and CLT Substitute "handbooks" are not actually handbooks but are on-boarding procedures that H.R. provides to new employees; these should be referred to as On Boarding Procedures in future communication and with the senate steering committee. For QCC-published on-boarding procedures the committee could consult with H.R.'s Faculty and Staff Relations Glenna Lash.
- 2) For modifications to the Student Handbook the committee could consult with V.P. for Student Affairs Michel Hodge; V.P. Hodge could be consulted as to when the Student Handbook would appear online.
- 3) The Faculty Handbook should reflect that the policy on discrimination and sexual misconduct has been split into two separate policies.
- 4) Noel Sangeeta can be consulted regarding the Adjunct Faculty Handbook appearing online.
- 6) All handbooks and procedures online should comply with the ADA Mandate; consult Dave Moretti.

7) The 2017-2018 committee can determine if the handbooks and On Boarding procedures can be put on the committee's password protected black board site for referencing.

4. Appointments for 2017-2018 and new committee members

New committee members Frank Jacob and Faustino Quintanilla were welcomed. Wendy Ford will continue as the committee webmaster 2017-2018. Jennifer Maloy will be committee secretary 2017-2018. Frank Jacob was nominated and voted in as the new chairperson 2017-2020 (3 year term). Members that have completed their appointments are Kat Alves and Raul Armendariz.

Respectfully submitted by Raul Armendariz